How to Deactivate Facebook Messenger Account

Facebook Messenger Offline Status

Facebook doesn’t want you to delete the account. This is the reason it always suggests you deactivate the account. If you deactivate the account, it doesn’t delete your Facebook account or data, but just stops showing you on the social network. If you deactivate your Facebook account, other users can still send you messages on Messenger if you have been using the app to talk Facebook contacts. So, you also need to deactivate Facebook Messenger if you do not want other Facebook users to contact you on Messenger after deactivating the Facebook account. In this article, I will tell you how you can deactivate Facebook Messenger.

It is worth noting that you can deactivate Messenger only after you have deactivated Facebook account. If you are not sure how to deactivate the Facebook account. Use the link added below to learn.

Also see: How to deactivate Facebook account

How to Deactivate Messenger Account

Steps to deactivate Messenger account is same in Android and iOS.

Step 1: Open the Messenger app.
Step 2: Tap on the profile picture and then scroll down to find “Legal & Policies”.
Step 3: Tap on “Legal & Policies” and then tap on “Deactivate Messenger”.
Step 4: Now Tap Deactivate to finally deactivate your Messenger account.

It will log you pout of messenger account.

If you ever want to reactivate your Messenger account, you just need to log in again with your username and password. It will automatically reactivate your Messenger account.

Wrap Up

Now you know how to deactivate the Messenger account. If you have a deactivated Facebook account, you can also deactivate the Messenger account to stay away from Facebook contacts. Reactivating Messenger is as simple as login into the account. So, there is no harm in deactivating when you want to stay away from Facebook for some time.

Advertisement

Tags: |

Deepanker Verma is the founder of Techlomedia. He is a tech blogger, developer and gadget freak.


Similar Articles

0 Comments

Leave a comment

Comment policy: We love comments and appreciate the time that readers spend to share ideas and give feedback. However, all comments are manually moderated and those deemed to be spam or solely promotional will be deleted.

2020 UseThisTip | Part of Techlomedia Internet Pvt Ltd Developed By Deepanker