in

How to Delete Your Gmail Account

Advertisement

Gmail is one of the most popular email service used by millions of users. Gmail account is associated with your Google account that you use fo operate Google, YouTube, and several other services. So, many people think that deleting Gmail will break access to other services, but it is not true. You can delete your Gmail account and still keep your Google, YouTube and other accounts.

There could be several reasons to ditch Gmail account. Here, I am not going to discuss those possible reasons. If you are just looking a way to delete your Gmail account without affecting other Google services, keep reading.

Also see: How to delete YouTube Account

How to Delete Gmail Account

Go to Google Account Settings and select Data & Personalization.

Advertisement

Now scroll down to Download, delete, or make a plan for your data. Here you see an option saying Delete a service or your account.

Delete Gmail Account

In the next page, select the first option saying Delete a Google service.

Delete Gmail Account

It will prompt your password for security reasons. Enter the password of your Google account. Then on Delete a Google service page, click on the Trash icon in front of Gmail.

Delete Gmail Account

Then it asks for an alternative email address different from the one you are deleting. It will use that alternative email for allowing you to use other Google services. It will also send a confirmation link to finally delete the account. Check the inbox for that confirmation message and follow the deletion link.

When you click on the link, it promises to the Gmail account you are deleting. After that, you need to select Yes, I want to delete [email protected] permanently from my Google Account.

Also see How to Delete Instagram Account Permanently

After you delete the Gmail account, all your emails will be deleted permanently. If you have downloaded a copy using Google Takeout or using an email program, you can still access ti your emails.

If someone tries to send you an email on your older email address, the full be receive delivery failure message. So it is a good idea to announce a new or alternate old address where people can contact you.

Now you know how to permanently delete your Gmail account. I hope this guide was easy to understand. If you still have any question to ask, you can leave it in the comments below. don’t forget to check our other guides on Gmail.

Advertisement

Written by Deepanker

Deepanker Verma is the founder of Techlomedia. He is a tech blogger, developer and gadget freak.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

MacBook Battery Health

How to Check Your MacBook’s Battery Health

Change the Default Save Location of Screenshots in macOS