How to Delete YouTube Account



YouTube is a popular video-sharing website on the Internet. People can watch videos or share their own videos with the world. YouTube has given people a platform to show creativity and earn money by using its video monetization option. Not just video uploading and watching, it also allows people to perform various activities. One can subscribe channel, like/dislike videos and post the comment. If you want to subscribe, like, dislike or comment on a YouTube videos, you should have a YouTube account.

If you have been doing these things on YouTube, you already have a YouTube account. However, you may have a reason to stop using your YouTube account and wish to learn how to delete YouTube account. This is a personal choice, and there could be so many reasons for doing this.

How to Delete YouTube Account

YouTube was started as a video sharing platform long time back in 2005. But it was acquired by Google for US$1.65 billion in 2006. In those days, it was the biggest internet deal. Google knew the value of YouTube and this is the reason it spent this much of amount on YouTube. YouTube is now third most visited website on Internet after Google and Facebook.

Now YouTube account is integrated with your Google account as service. So, you need to go and remove this product from your Google account. Initially, it was associated with Google+ account. So, one had to delete Google+ account to delete YouTube account. But Google has now started detaching Google+ from its different services.


Note: Before you learn the steps, you must know that removing YouTube service from your Google account will not affect other Google products including Gmail, Google Photos or Google Drive. You only will lose access to your Google+ profile and all of your +1s. Your Google+ photos will be available on your Google Photos account.

Before you delete your account, you should download your YouTube data by using Google Takeout service This is the Google service to download data from any Google service.

Also see: POF Login

Steps to delete YouTube account

These are the steps to delete YouTube account:

Step 1: Click on this link to open Account Preferences page. If you are not already logged into your Google account, it will ask you to login before accessing this page.

Step 2: In Account Preferences, select ‘Delete your account of services’. See snapshot below to check where to find this option.

delete YouTube account

Step 3: Scroll down the page until you find section for ‘Delete your account or services.’

delete youtube account

Step 4: In this, select ’Delete Products’ and reauthorize your account.

Step 5: In this page, it will ask you to delete services you want. You can select YouTube for deletion. Click on trash icon just in front of YouTube.Now you are done with deleting YouTube account. It will not have any effect on other Google services and data stored or associated with other Google services. It will only delete YouTube account and data associated with the YouTube account.

Also see: make google my homepage

How to Delete a YouTube Channel

On YouTube, you can create a channel for you. All your uploaded videos will be available on your YouTube channel. People who are interested in watching videos can subscribe your channel to get updates when you upload a new video. If you want to delete YouTube account just because you do not want to continue your YouTube channel and also want to delete your existing videos, you can consider deleting YouTube account in place of deleting the whole YouTube account. In this way, you can delete your videos but you will still have a YouTube account to perform other YouTube actions such as comments, likes or dislikes.

Deleting YouTube channel is simple but, you have to find out option for that. Follow these steps to delete a YouTube channel:

Step 1. Open YouTube and login into your YouTube account. YouTube account credentials will be same as your Google account.

Step 2. Go to your advanced account settings. For this, click on your profile picture at the top right corner and click on the gear icon. Here, find the option for Advanced just below your email address.

Step 3. In Advanced Settings page, you will see the option to delete youtube channel.

delete youtube account

Step 4. You are done with deleting YouTube channel.

By following steps given above, you will be able to delete YouTube channel associated with a YouTube account. You must consider both things and think what you exactly want to do. Deleting YouTube account and deleting YouTube channel are different things. So, you should think about your current requirement. Because deletion is the one-way process. You will not be able to get your deleted data back.

Wrap Up

This was the tutorial covering how to delete Youtube account and how to delete YouTube channel. Now, you know that there is no option to delete the YouTube account. If you have a Google account, you already have an account on YouTube. You only need to remove YouTube service to stop using YouTube with your Google account. But you can also see it same as deleting YouTube account. I also recommend to use Google Takeout to download your data before your proceed with above given steps.Try this way to delete youtube account and let me know if you got success in this. If you have any confusion or trouble while performing any of the things mentioned above, you can ask me by putting a comment below. I will try to respond your queries as soon as possible.



UseThisTip is one of the best tech blogs that try to solve your computer and internet related problems. You can find best how to technology articles here. We post best computer tricks and internet tricks along with website review and mobile app reviews. We also do software reviews and also try to give you list of best alternative software and apps so that you do not need to buy paid software or app.


Copyright © 2018 UseThisTip

To Top