How to enable Disappearing Messages for a WhatsApp contact

WhatsApp

WhatsApp has introduced the Disappearing Messages feature for all its users. You can enable this individually for a contact. Once enabled for a contact, all the chat messages will be deleted after seven days of time. You can enable Disappearing messages for both group and individual chats. For groups, only the admin can enable or disable this feature. If you are not the admin, you cannot.

If you are interested in enabling the Disappearing Messages feature but not sure how to do this, keep reading. In this article, I will tell you how to enable Disappearing Messages for a WhatsApp chat.

Enable Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp

In the WhatsApp app, open the chat with the contacts for which you want to enable disappearing messages. Now tap on the contact’s name and the top. You will see the Disappearing messages option. Tap on it and then select On.

It will enable WhatsApp’s disappearing message for that contact. All the conversations will automatically be deleted after 7 days.

You should also know a few things about this feature. If you forward a message to any other chat, forwarded message will not be deleted. It will only delete the conversation. If someone sends you a photo and the photo has been downloaded on your phone, the photo will not be deleted. The feature will just remove conversation.

Other person can still copy and save content from the disappearing message to somewhere else. One can also take a photo of chat or capture the screenshot of a disappearing message before it disappears.

Disable disappearing messages

You can follow the same steps and set Disappearing messages Off to disable Disappearing messages for a contact.

Advertisement

Tags: |

Deepanker Verma is the founder of Techlomedia. He is a tech blogger, developer and gadget freak.


Similar Articles

0 Comments

Leave a comment

Comment policy: We love comments and appreciate the time that readers spend to share ideas and give feedback. However, all comments are manually moderated and those deemed to be spam or solely promotional will be deleted.

2020 UseThisTip | Part of Techlomedia Internet Pvt Ltd Developed By Deepanker