Web

How to Enable the Undo Send feature in Gmail

How to Enable the Undo Send feature in Gmail

Advertisement

Few days back, Google made its experimental feature “Undo Send” official. I already posted an article covering Gmail’s Undo Send feature. At that time, this feature was available via Gmail labs. Now, the feature is available for all users. If you were not already using using this feature, you can enable this from the settings of your Gmail account. If you still do not know about this, it is a Gmail feature which lets you stop a sent mail from being sent to the receiver. Yes, if you accidently sent an email to someone, you can stop that email within a specified amount of time.

How to enable Undo Send in Gmail

If you want to use this, you need to enable this feature from the settings of your Gmail account. Just click on the gear icon at the top right side below your profile pic. Select “settings” here.

In settings, find “Undo Send” in the general tab. Select the checkbox to enable this feature and select the delay time. It offers delay time options 5, 10, 20, and 30 seconds. I recommend you yo use 30 seconds to have enough time to think and undo a mail.

 Undo Send feature in Gmail

Once you have made changes, scroll down to the bottom and save settings.

Advertisement

Next time you send an email, you will see a notification at the top soon after clicking on send button. If you want to unto mail send, click on Undo link. It is worth to mention that undo link will disappear if you refresh the page or go to another page in Gmail.

 Undo Send feature in Gmail

How does this feature work?

Google is not using anything to recall a sent message and hence basic nature of email is already there. Google is only delaying the mail delivery if you have enabled this feature. Suppose you added X seconds time delay as cancellation period. Google will not send your email until these seconds after you click on send button in an email. Once the time frame passed, Google will send you email and you will not be able to do undo.
This feature is helpful if you accidently sent email to wrong person, or forgot to attach the attachment or some other kind of human error. I strongly recommend using this feature if you generally do silly mistakes in emails.

Advertisement

Comments
To Top